Skiers Responsibility Code
31 posts
11 users
10k+ views
JoeCavallo
January 27, 2002
Member since 01/27/2002 🔗
1 posts
I am a novice snowboarder. I ride on green trails only. I understand that part of skiing and riding is that people may run into you and I accept that. What has been bothering me is that I often see riders and skiers who are highly skilled using green trails as their own personal downhill ski course. I have been in VT and the Poconos in areas with large posted signs saying designated Slow Skiing areas but still riders and skiers shoot by straight down the trail at very high rates of speed. Look guys, If I was out slowly traversing a black diamond trail and you ran into me you would have a reason to gripe because I dont belong on black diamonds. So I dont think it is unreasonable for me to expect skilled riders and boarders to adhere to the code of responsibility by ridiing and skiing slowly in areas that are posted as slow ski areas. I also think it is a violation of the code to shoot straight down the center of a green trail because most novice riders and skiers have to traverse so the chances of running into someone is very high no matter how good you think you are.
PhysicsMan
January 28, 2002
Member since 11/20/2001 🔗
218 posts
Right on!

Now, if you could only convince all the testo-filled idjits out there who don't have a clue about personal responsibility (let alone reasonable behavior and civility), you could probably get nominated for Time Magazine's Man Of The Year award.

I have been skiing for 30 years. I ski fast when the conditions are right, and I think there has been only one time in 30 years that I have ever hit someone else, and that was at very low speed when a binding disintegrated on me and I found my foot suddenly free of the ski as I was skiing slowly into the lift line. My personal opinion is that the vast majority of collisions are entirely preventable (assuming that the people involved would have used their brains).