9 posts
6 users
2k+ views
jupiter
December 21, 2008
Member since 12/21/2008 🔗
3 posts
newbie here...

Hi - I'm a fla mom looking for the ultimate xmas gift for my college kid - GWU who's starting to freak after finals. we're mainly a family that's into watersports - I don't think she owned a pair of socks prior to GWU... Where would be a good place to get a weekend ski trip as a xmas gift for her and her dormmates, that they could get to via amtrak, and could rent all necessaries? thanks in advance and happy holidays!
JimK - DCSki Columnist
December 21, 2008
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,966 posts
Neat idea jupiter. I'll suggest a rather elaborate plan first: Union Station in DC to NYC then continue to Rutland, VT and take a shuttle bus from there to Killington, VT. I've attached a couple links to give you details. If you get serious about this you should also contact Killington resort, third link and maybe Amtrak. There are other options such as Stowe, VT, but Killington is a favorite of college age people and is one of New England's most significant ski areas. Mid-Atlantic ski areas are not too Amtrak friendly, but a few such as Snowshoe, WV might be doable if a one hour bus or taxi connection could be arranged via your lodging choice. Where there's a will, there's a way.

http://www.suite101.com/article.cfm/north_american_train_travel/89301

http://www.killingtonguide.com/travel/amtrak-ethan-allen-express.html

http://www.killington.com/winter/index.html
GRK
December 21, 2008
Member since 12/19/2007 🔗
404 posts
Jim K and others

What do you think about Belleayre, NY as an option for Jupiter? It is about 18 miles from Rhinecliff NY Amtrak station which has pretty frequent service from DC via NY.

Not sure about lodging and nightlife for college kids though...but others will. Bet they would love Killington if not too far for them.
lbotta - DCSki Supporter 
December 21, 2008
Member since 10/18/1999 🔗
1,535 posts