Timberline vs. Canaan Valley
34 posts
10 users
10k+ views
Steve
January 14, 2007
Member since 02/15/2006 🔗
160 posts
We're heading up to Timberline on Friday. Is it worth leaving a day to ski at Canaan Valley, or just buy a several day pass at Timberline? I'm still a newbie, but the kids are into terrain parks big time. This all assumes that there will be snowmaking this week.

Any advice?
Steve
jimmy
January 15, 2007
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
2,650 posts
Steve, If it wasn't for this *&^%$%&*(&grrrr!@#$@-ing (pardon the profanity) weather, you'd probably have gotten some good suggestions by now. Best thing to do at this point is watch the noaa for Davis and maybe check out the dolly sod web cam and to be sure conditions will be better this weekend than last.

From what I see on Tlines webcam it looks like they'll be starting over with %@$%^(*&^& snowmaking.
Clay
January 15, 2007
Member since 04/11/2006 🔗
555 posts
Jimmy,
You're starting to sound like me . You can blame KWillg for introducing us

It is, in fact, pretty sad here although the temperature has started to drop. My thermometer says 51.4 right now. It had been hanging around 56 most of the day.

At least they have a foot of snow up on Sally to start with (not counting the holes) although to be honest, I didn't go out today, so that was yesterday's observation. Just couldn't get motivated for another 55 degree, rainy ski day.

Good news is on the way though. Assuming that you need a 27 degree wet-bulb temp to make snow, Accuweather says they will be able to make from 9AM tomorrow (Tues) through Noon on Thursday, and again from 8PM Thurday through Noon on MONDAY. Sorry, I can't post a link because this forecast is from a pay area of their site.

Keep the faith, maybe we'll see a few more trails this weekend!