whitetail question
26 posts
17 users
5k+ views
cmr2
December 13, 2005
Member since 02/2/2005 🔗
2 posts
i'm a beginner - only been skiing a few times - but i'm thinking of going up to whitetail with some friends this weekend. i can handle all the greens at snowshoe pretty well, but i'm looking at the whitetail trail map, and the greens are pretty limited. how are the immediate trails at whitetail - too challenging for a beginner like me? just curious if it's worth it to go if the intermediates are going to be too difficult.
Swimmer
December 13, 2005
Member since 02/3/2005 🔗
143 posts
You don't get better sitting on the couch.

It's my humble opinion that they call some of the intermediates blue runs simply because of the length of the run. There may be a couple of short roll overs/headwall (steep sections of trail) that approach interesting, however, these are navigated by beginners every day.

Go, have fun. Learn to ski better..."school" your friends by the end of the season.

Steve
(the real question is where are you driving from and are there better ski hills closer to home?
cmr2
December 13, 2005
Member since 02/2/2005 🔗
2 posts
i'm in dc - friends are looking for a short trip.

thanks for the advice! and i definitely agree that i won't get better sitting on the couch. however, i also won't get any better if i'm petrified at the top of a blue...
jimmy
December 13, 2005
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
2,650 posts
I'm not an expert on the terrain @ Whitetail but IMO the blues there are much wider than the greens at snowshoe, plenty of room to make turns, were you comfortable skiing the greens at snowshoe? Take a deep breath.......make good turns.......wipe ($h!t eating grin) off face, get on lift and do it again.

Welcome to dcski!
DCSki Sponsor: Past Yonder: A Human's Views on AI
snowcone
December 13, 2005
Member since 09/27/2002 🔗
589 posts