Ski Patrol
10 posts
7 users
1k+ views
JCHobbes
September 12, 2005
Member since 09/12/2005 🔗
94 posts
I'm a really great skier (yes, I'm gloating) and I've always thought ski patrol was kind of cool. I have some first-aid experience, but not a whole lot.

I've been looking forward to being able to join the ski patrol for quite some time now, and I'm hoping to join a patrol towards the end of this season or the beginning of next.

Unfortunately, being underage, I realize that legally I am sort of a risk, but I know that some patrols have junior programs for minors.

Anyway, I was wondering if the patrols at any of my local ski areas (Hidden Valley, Laurel Mountain, Seven Springs, or Boyce Park) have a junior program or even just a lowered age requirement?

Looking around at the different web sites, I've learned that Hidden Valley, the mountain at which I spend most of my time requires patrollers to be 18, but none of the other local patrol's web sites list a specific age requirement. I'd gladly go somewhere else (particularly Laurel Mountain, if they ever open again) next winter if it meant getting to join a patrol.

I figure there has to be at least a dozen or so patrollers among the membership here who might be able to shed some light on the topic for me...

So, does your patrol have any high-school aged members?
BushwackerinPA
September 12, 2005
Member since 12/9/2004 🔗
649 posts
OT-hey by any chance do i know you? This is Josh one of the ski instructors at HV.
SpringsRegular
September 13, 2005
Member since 10/14/2004 🔗
153 posts
We do take patrollers under 18 at Seven Springs. PM me for more inoformation.
Taylormatt
September 14, 2005
Member since 12/3/2004 🔗
339 posts
Sam, clean out your Epic mailbox! PM's are bouncing back cuz it's full.
Jim
September 14, 2005
Member since 11/22/1999 🔗
317 posts