7 posts
6 users
1k+ views
Cycleski
January 29, 2021
Member since 01/10/2021 🔗
27 posts

Good morning,

DC Ski newbie here wondering if anyone has experience with night skiing at Whitetail.  My biggest concern is icy conditions on the slopes and base.  Thank you in advance!

John

BrianLing
January 29, 2021
Member since 03/15/2018 🔗
10 posts
Haven’t been night skiing/riding at Whitetail but had several night trips to Liberty on Thursdays after work. It’s closer to NoVA. I consider conditions should be same. 
Good - no lines at all. Max 3 chairs’ wait. Very efficient - can do ~15 runs in 2 hours. 
Another good - parking is easy. 
Bad - as you can expect, very icy. As an experienced skier/rider it’s okay for me but TBH not good for beginners who are failing into the hard icy surfaces...
Scott - DCSki Editor
January 30, 2021 (edited January 30, 2021)
Member since 10/10/1999 🔗
1,249 posts

Cycleski wrote:

Good morning,

DC Ski newbie here wondering if anyone has experience with night skiing at Whitetail.  My biggest concern is icy conditions on the slopes and base.  Thank you in advance!

John

Hi John,

Welcome to DCSki.  I've skied at Whitetail dozens of times at night -- I've probably spent more time on the slopes there in the dark than in the sunlight!  In the past, I went on weekday and Sunday evenings, avoiding Friday and Saturday evenings when the slopes can be quite crowded.  This year, Whitetail has scaled back their evening hours, so unfortunately I do not believe they're offering night skiing Monday through Wednesday.  (Check their operating hours here.)  I haven't been skiing this winter, so can't say whether there are any significant changes to the night skiing experience due to COVID, etc.