11 posts
6 users
7k+ views
AnyaK
October 31, 2004
Member since 10/31/2004 🔗
9 posts
Hello,

I am a sporadic skier, I usually make it only once a year but I love it. I'm not a beginner but usually stick to the easier intermediate slopes. I have thick ankles and calves and always have a lot of pain (usually chafing, bruising or losing circulation) from rental ski boots, even with the thinnest socks possible. But I'm reluctant to buy myself a pair of boots because I don't ski very often (much to my dismay). I would be open to buying a custom fit liner/insole though, but I'm not sure I could wear it with rental boots. I'd also consider secondhand boots if they might be a good option. Any suggestions?

My boyfriend would love to see me try snowboarding, too - do those boots tend to fit large calves better? if they do, I'll try that this year instead!

Thanks,
Anya
comprex
October 31, 2004
Member since 04/11/2003 🔗
1,326 posts
AnyaK, would you ski more if the boots fit?

If the answer is no, snowboarding is probably your better option.
Cliff
October 31, 2004
Member since 09/21/2004 🔗
22 posts
Hi AnyaK

You are not the only female with this problem. Most ladies have a large calf. So if you go for a pair of boot weather they are ski boots are snowboard boot, Look for women specific boots Salomon makes 2 or 3 different women's models that i know of as well as other major companies. These boots accommodate the larger calf of the female. The next time you rent a pair of boots ask for a extender. A extender is just a small circle made of wire which is put on the rental boot to accommodate a woman's calf. I know whitetail and liberty have calf extenders in the rental shops just ask for them and that should help with the pain.
I hope this helps

Cliff
AnyaK
November 1, 2004
9 posts
Hi Comprex, Cliff,