Core Shot @ Sugar
2 posts
2 users
JohnL
January 19, 2003
Member since 01/6/2000 🔗
3,551 posts
As an aside, if you're 5'11 and 180 lbs and skiing at DIN 11 and your last name is not Maier, you may want to consider a new ski shop. That may have contributed to your ski damage and the degree of your fall.

Sorry about the bases/edges, but if you hate NC skiing, you'll definitely hate Vermont skiing. Rocks are considered terrain features in Vermont ...

KA
January 20, 2003
Member since 01/19/2003 🔗
1 posts
I try really hard not to bash skiing in NC, but this time I had to speak out. I've been skiing in NC for 21 years and ski at least 3 times a week except for the holidays. I also worked in the ski industry for 8 years, 4 of those years as a ski instructor. On Thurs., Jan. 16 it snowed 3-6 inches at Sugar Mt. and the riding was great. I just got a brand new pair of Volkl SuperSports that had came out of the plastic the night before when they were mounted, so I figured this was the perfect test for them. On the fourth run, I came down Big Red and at the bottom of the run next to the slow sign on the right, there was a big rock IN THE trail that ski patrol, I suppose, let slip their mind. I am 5'11" tall and180 pound, my din setting was on an 11 and the rock popped my ski's off sending me straight off the trail where I fractured my finger and jammed my neck. Needless to say after 4 runs, my $750 dollar skis have a massive core shot and edge damage! After asking about obstacles IN THE trail, Sugar's Admin. said they couldn't do anything. I ask a personal friend of mine what Beech Mt.'s policy was and he said his father, who is the Mt. Manager, usually did something when it was the neglect of the staff.