johnfmh - DCSki Columnist
June 16, 2004
Member since 07/18/2001 🔗
1,991 posts
jimmy
June 17, 2004
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
2,650 posts
Wonder if this means your next pair of Volkls will be made in China?
Crush
June 17, 2004
Member since 03/21/2004 🔗
1,274 posts
Dayummmm!!! That is huge ! And Jimmy - who cares if they are made in China! Actually most German workers are spoiled and as long as the design team is the same or better who cares. Any trained monkey can work a press, laminator, epoxy gun, or curing oven. If it lowers the cost I have not problem. I am a software developer and I recognise that India and Pakistan are going to totally take over the segment with cheaper labor and fine you know what they can do just as good a job as their US counterparts .... that is why I stopped being a developer .... loosing battle ... time to get global!
June 18, 2004
1,991 posts
I think this will be good for the skier. Volkl tended to underproduce some of its top lines of skis and sell them at very high rates. Last year, Ski Center ran out of Supersport 6's in November and Volkl refused to supply them or any other area store with more skis. They said that their production run on that model was over.
DCSki Sponsor: Past Yonder: A Human's Views on AI
snowcone
June 18, 2004
Member since 09/27/2002 🔗
589 posts
I know you guys are going to flames the hell out of me but I see nothing wrong in having fewer pairs of good quality ski available even if it means the prices are higher. Ya get what ya pay for, and I for one don't mind paying more for a product if that means the producer of that product gets a living wage. EU products are generally of substantially higher quality than say products made in Malaysia or some other sweatshop country like China. There is still pride in EU in doing the job right, not just to willy-nilly turn out a product. I would be willing to bet that there are more employees of Volkl/Marker that ski than employees on a Chinese ski assembly line.