10 posts
7 users
2k+ views
Telluride
September 26, 2009
Member since 09/26/2009 🔗
4 posts
Hello,

I've been lurking around here for a while, but this is my first post. I've been skiing for over twenty years, and have had the extraordinary good fortune of getting 15-20 days in Colorado (the vast majority in Telluride) for the past number of years. For a variety of reasons, I'm not going to get out West as much so I'm looking into my local options.

Save for a half day of February skiing on rentals at Whitetail a few years ago, I've never skied on the East Coast. I did come across Snowshoe by chance a couple of years ago and it looked promising.

I grew up skiing in the Midwest - so I understand limited vertical drop, more limited terrain variety, and what resorts with manmade snow mean when they say "hardpack" on a snow report.

When I'm out West, I prefer to ski bumps or ungroomed runs on the blacks and double blacks. Like I said, I realize that I won't find a run like Telluride's Plunge in Virginia, but I've seen reports of bumps and steeper runs in the forum that have definitely piqued my interest. That being said, it's hard to get a handle on how the various places compare.

I live in DC, and am seeking opinions on the resorts with the best expert terrain in the region, both in terms of places I can hit for a 2 or 3 day weekend, or a comparison of the places closer to DC that I could hit for a day trip (Liberty, Whitetail, the VA resorts, etc.). My ideal is a place with some decent bumps on a decent pitch that I can make laps, build up a little lactic acid, scare myself occasionally, and have some fun.

Any and all advice is very much welcomed; thanks in advance.
The Colonel - DCSki Supporter 
September 26, 2009
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
3,110 posts
When Shay's Revenge at Snowshoe is open and bumped up, it will give you what you seek. So will Extrovert at Blue Knob, but usually it is a sheet of ice bumps.
The Colonel smile
Telluride
September 26, 2009
4 posts