New member in MD
9 posts
6 users
2k+ views
pimp-on-ski's
February 25, 2008
Member since 02/24/2008 🔗
5 posts
So I am basically new to skiing.. Just came back from Canaan Valley resort and I was not impressed. Was I expecting too much or what? I decided to join my brother in his quest to conquer Snowboarding and snowboarding conquered him with a broken wrist in 2 places! I on the other hand had a bunch of bruises. Maybe next time I might just stick to skiing and not snowboarding. What do you all think? Should I give snowboarding another chance? I was told it takes a while to pick it up. Please give me some input.. Any help?
kwillg6
February 25, 2008
Member since 01/18/2005 🔗
2,066 posts
Welcome to the board! I tried the dark side, once. I've remained a skier because of what you experienced. No broken bones but I couldn't get a lot of enjoyment out of it. This past weekend was a poor representation of what the vallley has to offer. The weather bombed and our experiences at t-line on Saturday was in a word, interesting. Canaan Valley resort is operated by a company who doesn't run ski areas. It's sad but true. The folks who run it don't even like cold weather. Their contract is up at the end of this year and hopefully the valley's most influential new property owner ( WV's govenor) will have a say in getting a decent management company in there. I'd e-mail his office and let them know what your experiences were.
snowglobe
February 25, 2008
Member since 03/12/2007 🔗
150 posts
Well, people say that the learning curve for snowboarding is steeper at the beginning but once you got past that point, it 's a breeze and it 's so much fun. Most people need 3-4 times to really start to have fun snowboarding. My first time was really painful, the second time got much better but still painful, I remembered starting to really enjoy it on the third time. Skiing is easier to start but more difficult to become an expert I think.