Schools Out 1/26-27 - Likely Crowds?
3 posts
3 users
rockvillem
January 8, 2004
Member since 01/8/2004 🔗
1 posts
My family of 4 (2 kids - 13 and 10) is considering using the school closure on January 26 and 27 to learn to ski. The areas closest to us are (in order): Liberty, Whitetail, Roundtop, and Bryce. I have a few questions:

1. Does anyone have experience with this school break (Mont. County has this every year in late January) and what it does to the crowds on Monday and Tuesday?

2. Is it a bad idea to try to learn on these days in light of this?

3. As a complete novice, I'd LOVE any further views on which of these areas would be the best for a 2-day learn to ski attempt with the family on this particular school break. Liberty is closest, but I am willing to drive the extra distance if it will improve the overall experience.

Many thanks!

TOMF
January 8, 2004
Member since 11/17/2003 🔗
60 posts
Bryce is a great resort for families with children who are learning to ski. I have a strong sense that the staff there are committed to providing quality instruction to young skiers. My children are older now and we do most of our skiing at larger resorts, but we have fond memories of our early years skiing at Bryce.
(Anonymous)
January 9, 2004
We live in Fairfax, which also has the same school break days this year. Last year, my sons (12, 9, and 6) and I used the school break time to go to Wisp to learn to ski. I was surprised at the number of other families who had traveled there from Fairfax County. The beginner area, in particular, seemed very crowded to me, though we had no problem getting rooms in the lodge at fairly short notice.