Lodging/skiing/etc at TL and CV
6 posts
5 users
1k+ views
skier219
February 24, 2007
Member since 01/8/2005 🔗
1,318 posts
What are some good places to stay if I want to head up to ski Timberline and/or Canaan Valley midweek by myself for 2-3 days? Focus would be on clean/comfortable lodging but nothing fancy. Regular hotels are fine with me if there are any in the area. Don't mind staying at one of the resorts if it makes sense.

I figure I will be driving to the ski areas in the morning and day-tripping out of the back of the car, so if anyone has recommended parking locations at either resort, that would be good to know too -- the right parking spot makes life easy!

Also would be interested to hear recommendations on places to get a good meal for one.

Finally, should I just ski at one of the resorts the whole trip? Is one that much better than the other? I am an expert level skier and generally enjoy black trails but often delight in finding great blue trails with an interesting "slow line" that can be skied fast. While I like exploring different ski areas, I am more interested in geting the best skiing for the limited time I will be there.

thanks, Craig
The Colonel - DCSki Supporter 
February 24, 2007
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
3,110 posts
This one's easy...stay at the Cannan Valley Lodge in the State Park. This year they are running a midweek anniversary special for $35 per midweek night, for both February and March stays! MAKE SURE, WHETHER YOU CALL OR MAKE THE RESERVATIONS ON LINE, THAT YOU REQUEST THE "INTERNET SPECIAL - 35TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL $35 RATE"!!! I just talked with the reservations office at Canaan to confirm that you can make the reservation and stay anytime midweek in either Feb. or March.