Oh come on'
12 posts
7 users
3k+ views
freshair1
February 15, 2007
Member since 01/25/2006 🔗
18 posts
Ohhh phewy! Not sure why my post aren't showing up. But this is try 3. I'd like to do a little snowboarding - I'm a novice and I will be a solo bird debating where to go. I'm thinking SnowShoe or I have family near Peak - n- Peak and I hear they have been hit with a lot of snow, but I understand its cold as ice - and I hate ice. I've not been to either place so haven't a clue to which is nicer for what I'm seeking. I hail near the Raleigh NC area and am just looking for a few days of great runs that might have a great board school so that I can shake the rust loose and check the terrain. Any ideas btwn these two or any others this time of the year? Thanks -joanna
The Colonel - DCSki Supporter 
February 15, 2007
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
3,110 posts
Might consider Wintergreen. Might be closer.
The Colonel
freshair1
February 15, 2007
18 posts
Wintergreen - I'll check it out, thank you very much. By chance have you ever played around at Peak n Peak in NY? My experiences have all been in Utah and Colorado country that is except for last year when I iced around at CV - eeck. I was thinking of riding Tuesday or Wed of this coming week and by passing the crowds from the holiday weekend.
Any other live ideas?
Roy
February 16, 2007
Member since 01/11/2000 🔗
609 posts
Hi freshair,

You can also consider going to the Boone, NC area (Take I-40W to Hwy421W). Sugar Mtn is a decent sized place (compared to anywhere else near you) and Beech Mtn has Ladies Day on Tuesdays I think (Women ski free). Sugar probably has the better school.
freshair1
February 16, 2007
18 posts