Where is the blue trail at Blue KNob?
6 posts
3 users
1k+ views
(Anonymous)
December 24, 2003
I've been skiing at BLue KNob for many years, but have never skied this one. I've heard people talk about on the mountain and was wondering how one gets to it.
(Anonymous)
December 24, 2003
Jon, the Blue Trail at Blue Knob offered some of the finest out-of-bounds skiing on the East Coast. The area contained beautiful maples and oaks that averaged 120 years in age. The area was all open underneath without even a hint of brush or saplings; so you could ski in almost any direction. Better yet, the Blue Trail area held snow far better than any other spot on the mountain. The Blue Trail was located along the ridge to the right side (facing downhill) of Bunny Hop (now called Jack Rabbit). To get to it, you had to traverse the ridge, starting where some of the homes are located along Bunny Hop (the home owners never minded). You could exit the Blue Trail most anywhere, depending on how far down the mountain you wanted to ski. The entire Blue Trail area was brutally logged 2 Summers ago and hasn't been skiable since. The same logging contractor (currently under investigation by PA DEP) who logged the rest of the mountain also logged the Blue Trail WITHOUT a timber management plan. Of all the environmental destruction at BK, I am the most depressed about the loss of the Blue Trail; I have such fond memories of skiing deep powder in the Blue Trail area.
(Anonymous)
December 24, 2003
Sorry Jon, I got my directions reversed. I meant to say that the Blue Trail was located on the LEFT side of Bunny Hop facing downhill.
MRPLOW
December 24, 2003
Member since 12/23/2003 🔗
27 posts
Here is how I get to the still skiable blue trail.