Tips sought for skier thinking of snowboarding
16 posts
10 users
3k+ views
Scott - DCSki Editor
December 22, 2003
Member since 10/10/1999 🔗
1,249 posts
I've been skiing for a number of years, and like other skiers, I've noticed that more and more snowboarders are carving down the slopes. At first, I scoffed: this is clearly a fad that will run its course. But eventually, it became clear that snowboarding is here to stay, and a mild curiosity began to grow with each passing season. Some friends had switched from alpine skiing to boarding -- just to "try it" -- and hadn't seemed to switch back to skiing. (Traitors!) Could it be that snowboarding is actually -- fun? Might I enjoy it better than skiing? Hmm.

Fears of falling and having to restart a sport as a complete beginner have kept me from trying snowboarding. But.. This season, I think I might give it a try.

I know there are some avid boarders here, as well as some skiers-turned-boarders. So I ask for some advice. What tips can you offer for a skier who wants to give snowboarding a try?

As I see it, there are some pros and cons. These are uneducated pros and cons, so feel free to correct any misconceptions I have.

Pros:

- Snowboarding might actually be fun.

- The boots are a heck of a lot more comfortable than those skiing foot-vices I've been wearing and complaining about for years.

- It provides an opportunity to learn about new gear. And a new vocabulary. (I feel quite dated, not knowing what jibbing is.)

Cons:

- It provides an opportunity to spend a lot of money on new gear.

- Falling looks painful. On skis, I rarely fall, and when I do, it's a controlled fall -- gliding to a stop. On a snowboard, it looks like the transition from movement to non-movement is instantaneous -- causing the wind to get knocked out of you.

- On skis, your basic stance is facing down the mountain. On a snowboard, you're facing sideways. I'm afraid this might be difficult to get used to, and might be hard on the neck.