Folks here that use walkie talkies on the slopes?
8 posts
6 users
5k+ views
dcmidnight
November 13, 2006
Member since 11/11/2006 🔗
125 posts
Wife and I ski together a week every year and this is the first year I am thinking of using them. Our favorite resort destination is Whistler and between the two mountains we can get seperated at times. Hasnt been a concern up until now, nor is it when we ski locally, as we always just meet at a particular lift or if we go down a split trail we meet at the bottom. For safety sake though, thinking of using them this year.

Would love to hear suggestions on particular models that you like - the smaller the better.

Anyone used the helmet ear inserts for the Beori Tactic or similar?

Also if you have used them and they were a waste of time, would love to hear that too.
warren
November 13, 2006
Member since 07/31/2003 🔗
485 posts
I'm no RF engineer but I believe that the radios are basically line of sight. If you get significant terrain between you guys (such as being at Blackcomb (Crystal area) vs Whistler) you won't be able to communicate. Now at Snowshoe, I see people use them all the time fairly successfully (Except for the bottom of Cup vs the basin area.)

-Warren-
comprex
November 13, 2006
Member since 04/11/2003 🔗
1,326 posts

They work well if you have a high-power GMRS radio with squelch codes; I've been on one side of Keystone and talked to folks on the other side with a Motorola 6400 unit. There are better ones out there now.

The FRS-only units are very limited (mostly line of sight as stated above) and without squelch codes one is effectively on channel X code 0 and talking over 19 dozen others with various accents and chirps.

Not used the ear insert, but one problem has chronically been that remote microphones with VOX are really unreliable. One either has the microphone to close to one's mouth and is thereby unintelligible on the other end, or, if it is on the lapel say, it gets triggered by other things.