Murphy's Law on Snow
8 posts
4 users
1k+ views
JimK - DCSki Columnist
March 22, 2006
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts
I had a minor Murphy's Law occurrence about a week and a half ago in New England. The day before my trip I finally took a hacksaw to a pair of poles I had been using for two years. They were a bit too long, so I took off the handles, cut about two inches off each and then reapplied the handles. I enjoyed using them the first two days and definately noticed the difference in length. Then on the third and last day of trip I went to unload the family ski eqmt from car in Wachusett Mtn ski area parking lot. Oops, no poles for Dad. They had been left behind about 100 miles north at Okemo the day before. A liftie was nice enough to loan me a pair of old rental poles for the day, but it figures - as soon as I fix those poles they way I want them, they get lost.

Who else has seen Murphy's Law in effect on snow?
kennedy
March 22, 2006
Member since 12/8/2001 🔗
792 posts
Should invest in these.
http://www.coldpole.com/home.htm

You paying attention there Jimmy?
jimmy
March 22, 2006
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
2,650 posts
Everything takes longer than you think.

Riding the millicent at brighton, while no one told us last chair we figured we'd be cutting it close getting another ride up and we'd take the bail out about halfway down back to the base. Naturally we missed the cutoff and were about six chairs too late to get a ride; had to walk back thru the parking lot to get the base. I guess we broke our no hiking rule?

Kennedy, even though i'm only 5'7 i think i'll go with the 56" poles, just over a pint of everclear should go a long way .
JohnL
March 22, 2006
Member since 01/6/2000 🔗
3,551 posts
Quote:

Should invest in these.
http://www.coldpole.com/home.htm

You paying attention there Jimmy?

A blast from the past. Someone on my first ski trip to Utah in the mid 90's brought them, or something similar.