March skiing
19 posts
13 users
2k+ views
damnedbee
January 20, 2006
Member since 01/20/2006 🔗
3 posts
Hi, I'm a complete newbie who needs some advice.

I'd like to plan a weekend getaway to Bryce during the second weekend of March. From what I've gathered from this site, that can be a somewhat iffy time. I'd hate to lose my deposit on a condo if I have to cancel due to the resort being closed. What do you think? Is that generally a safe weekend to book a trip or not?
JimK - DCSki Columnist
January 20, 2006
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts
Unless we get an extraordinary meltdown chances are they will still have most of their trails open by then, but could be slushy. They will likely close soon after that weekend even if snow remains. Great place for newbies and should be deserted in March.
Here's a Bryce/March trip report from 2 yrs ago:
http://www.dcski.com/articles/view_article.php?article_id=60&mode=headlines
Roger Z
January 20, 2006
Member since 01/16/2004 🔗
2,181 posts
The closer-in ski areas sometimes shut down the first weekend of March (the Snotime resorts have gotten into this habit as of late). I'd rank the second weekend in March for Bryce as very dicey, particularly if this weather pattern doesn't change. You might want to look at something higher and further west or north if you can- Snowshoe, Canaan Valley, Seven Springs, and the like. They'll all be open that weekend.
JimK - DCSki Columnist
January 20, 2006
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts