Best instruction at area resorts?
11 posts
8 users
5k+ views
Maboomba
January 7, 2006
Member since 01/7/2006 🔗
7 posts
I'm tired of not being a good skiier. Which area resort - Liberty, Whitetail, WISP, Roundtop - has the best instructors and lessons? Do any of them really stand out or are they all the same at the entry-intermediate level?
Roy
January 8, 2006
Member since 01/11/2000 🔗
609 posts
If you are an entry, intermediate level, any of those resorts will do fine by their instructors (disclaimer: I'm an instructor at Liberty). There are differences to each instructor on how or what they teach, also depending on your abilities.

Take a group lesson (during the week the classes are typically smaller) and see how it goes. If you don't like the instructor you had, then take another lesson the next time you ski. I have some of my clinicians that I learn a lot from and some that I learn absolutely nothing from. Just don't stop trying.
kwillg6
January 9, 2006
Member since 01/18/2005 🔗
2,066 posts
It may be hit and miss until you find a good match with an instructor. I've had some which wasted my time, and then I've had others which knew exactly what I needed. In a group, you're stuck with the needs of the group, but in a private, you will get specifically what you need. A good time to get a group lesson which may end up as a private is on a sunday afternoon. Not too many lessons sold then, and, you just might get that instructor who will keep you coming back.
TerpSKI
January 9, 2006
Member since 03/10/2004 🔗
167 posts
I can vouch for Otto Matheke at Liberty. He is also a DCSki member. He is an excellent instructor and a nice guy.
jimmy
January 10, 2006
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
2,650 posts