cleaning/lubricating bindings.
7 posts
5 users
1k+ views
GGNagy
January 5, 2006
Member since 01/5/2006 🔗
504 posts
I have been using ski blades for the past 7 years, but last night I dug out my 17 year old skis, thinking I would tune them up for this weekend.
The bindings are Tyrolia 470s, and the lubricants seemed to have collected a layer of grime on them.
Any reccomendations on what can be used to clean and re-lubricate the bindings?
There is no rust and everything seems to move/engage/disengage ok, but just looks cruddy.

If the only good answer is: "take to a ski shop" then
a) whats the usual turn around on cleaning bindings? and
b) are they going to chase me out of the shop for trying to make them work on such antiques?
JohnL
January 5, 2006
Member since 01/6/2000 🔗
3,551 posts
Quote:

b) are they going to chase me out of the shop for trying to make them work on such antiques?

17 year old bindings? They won't even consider touching the bindings for fear of liablility problems. I wouldn't trust 17 year old bindings myself, and I tend to have a general disregard for equipment maintenance.

Do yourself a favor, rent skis the next time you head out. If your boots are 17 years old also, rent boots.
kwillg6
January 5, 2006
Member since 01/18/2005 🔗
2,066 posts
Tyrolia bindings, at one time, had recalls on quite a few models. I don't think the 470s were in that recall. I have an old pair of K2 UVOs that have that same binding and occasionally, I have taken a run on them, just to see the reactions of "lift liners." If they have been backed down in the off season (the din setting) they may be ok. It depends on the binding, the maintainence, how hard you ski them...etc... If not sure, do as John suggests and rent. It's better to be safe than sorry.
comprex
January 5, 2006
Member since 04/11/2003 🔗
1,326 posts

a) listen to JohnL