No guns on Cupp?!
8 posts
6 users
1k+ views
ndskier
December 12, 2005
Member since 12/11/2003 🔗
56 posts
Well I'm headin to snowshoe next monday and tuesday but as of now they have not reported any snowmaking on Cupp. With 2 straight weeks of snowmaking temps is anyone else surprised by this? The signature trail in the region deserves a little more respect i think Intrawest. Also hitting up timberline this Sat/Sun, lookin pretty good there, can't wait it's my first time there in probably 6 years. Where is the best place to stay in the valley if you are on a budget (college student $$$). Thanks
snowcone
December 12, 2005
Member since 09/27/2002 🔗
589 posts
We're heading up on Thursday and if there is no Cupp I will have a couple of very unhappy campers on my hands. But you are right, they should be blowing on Cupp and looking at the trail list it appears that none of the major blacks like Cupp, Widowmaker, Mountaineer etc are being prepped. I get the impression the new management is interested more in the lowest common denominators than regulars. If SS doesn't get going making snow on the good stuff pretty soon, we probably go elsewhere for local skiing. It just isn't worth the hellish drive to SS for pachinko greens and a couple of short icy blues.

In past years, no matter what the weather, Cupp has always been open no later the Dec 15th. Do ya think they are going to make that date this year?
rmcva
December 12, 2005
Member since 01/28/2004 🔗
187 posts
Last Saturday from the turnout looking over to Cupp/Shay, Cupp looked pretty good with the natural snow. However Shay looked thin and had grass showing. Neither had snowmaking.
SpringsRegular
December 12, 2005
Member since 10/14/2004 🔗
153 posts
(/Mini Hijack)This is where the Springs excels. The fact that they have fixed guns on EVERY slope and the compressor power to push them gives them the ability to blow snow everywhere at once. I believe that Snowshoe has to move the guns from slope to slope.(/end hijack)