Vocabulary Lesson
11 posts
8 users
1k+ views
MangyMarmot
December 1, 2005
Member since 12/25/2002 🔗
183 posts
I write for a living and absolutely love words (not as much as skiing)!

Anyhoo, every interest has its own particular slang. Lately I been getting a kick out of some terms bandied about here. My latest favorite is gaper -- which I take as someone who stops, goes slack jawed and stares at the monster mogul field they've committed to.

What is a picker?
And anyone have any favorite terms to share? I'd definitely appreciate a vocab lesson.

Here's a sentence of terms I learned from a Scottish couple recently. The spelling is loose.

I was really pissed so put on my pants instead of a dooker, so when I queued people thought I was monged.

Translation: I was really drunk and put on underwear instead of a swimming suit and when I got in line people thought I was retarded.

mm
POWPOW
December 1, 2005
Member since 05/10/2005 🔗
124 posts
from www.urbandictionary.com

. Picker
An earlybird who hunt swap meets, estate sales, thrift stores, etc and scoops up the good deals - often for resale in antique shops or on ebay.'Ole Craig has been a picker for eighteen years and he's still looking for a ten-dollar original Van Gogh!

2. picker

An illegal immigrant, usually a Mexican. Derived from a popular job for these immigrants, picking the fields of Southern California."You stupid picker!"
Source: J Dudley, Dec 22, 2003

Gotta love the urban dictionary for us 30somethings on the edge of losing coolness and touch!