11 posts
6 users
1k+ views
AnyaK
November 16, 2005
Member since 10/31/2004 🔗
9 posts
Hey fellow skiers,

I'm trying to put together a ski trip for some friends of mine, and I'd love your input. We've narrowed it down to 7Springs and Canaan, and we're having a hard time deciding between the two. Each place seems to have some major bonuses and some major down sides for us.

We're going over MLK weekend (I know, holiday crowds, but its the only option for some of us), and we have 2 advanced skiers, two total newbies, and two "seasoned beginners" (including myself - been skiing for years but never often enough to get off the greens or easy blues), so a varied group. We're also looking for a little post-ski relaxing too.

I've been to 7S, and loved it, but it IS a bit crowded, particularly on the holiday weekends. I've never been to Canaan, but I've heard that being much less crowded, it is better for newbies. Canaan is also significantly cheaper for the packages we're looking at, but 7S has a bunch of stuff we'll miss at Canaan - good restaurants, the outdoor hot tubs, being able to ski right from the condos (even though the Boomerang trail sucks).

So, can you guys offer any enlightening words?

Thanks!
Anya
johnfmh - DCSki Columnist
November 16, 2005
Member since 07/18/2001 🔗
1,986 posts