Where should I ski in the Midwest?
19 posts
15 users
4k+ views
Chad
October 22, 2005
Member since 12/12/2000 🔗
274 posts
hey i know we have some posters here out in ohio. it looks like i may be making a roadtrip from virginia to chicago this winter. i want to stop somewhere along the way to carve a few turns on my snowboard, and add to my number of unique ski area visits (currently i have 33). can anyone make suggestions?

so far the best bet looks like mad river mountain near columbus. i am also considering holiday valley in far western new york. i know nothing about michigan or illinois. let me know what you think.
JimK - DCSki Columnist
October 22, 2005
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts
I have no personal experience in the Ohio valley or near midwest region, but I know there are a number of small areas around Cincy. One of the better ones is supposedly Perfect North in nearby Indiana, vert is around 400'. But that would seem to be pretty far out of the way from Chicago. I have heard repeated good comments about Holiday Valley, NY. I believe it is about an hour south of Buffalo and catches a lot of lake effect snow. Has 750' vert and supposedly is big in a horizontal way like Seven Springs, but also with a few nice, short black diamond runs. A chance to ski fresh pow might be worth the detour to or from Chicago. It got a ridiculously high rating in ski mag reader polls this year. If you made it as far as the NY state line maybe you might also want to hit Plattekill (supposed to be a little like MRG), Hunter, or Windham on the way by the Catskills?
Taylormatt
October 22, 2005
Member since 12/3/2004 🔗
339 posts
Holiday Valley is a cool little place. It's been years since I've been there, but it is roughly the same size as 7 Springs.