Follow up on Southeast route to 7S
7 posts
5 users
tromano
July 4, 2005
Member since 12/19/2002 🔗
998 posts
Went up to 7S this weekend to spend the long weekend at the new condo. We have been working on a route to access 7S via 68 from DC and have finally come up wiht a winner.

I270W-I70W-I68W-219N

Take 219N to Garret,PA turn onto 653W. Follow this all the way until you hit 281 in New Centerville. Continue straight across rt-281 (leaving 653W) Continue straight all the way to the 7S gates (about 7 miles). No truck traffic noted on backroads. We were able to make this form our condo in NW to 7S in 3:15. No tolls and little traffic on I-68 compated to the PA TPK. No difficult ascents or switchbacks
in PA highlands.
jb714
July 5, 2005
Member since 03/4/2003 🔗
294 posts
My wife and I recently bought a cottage 6 miles East of 7 Springs (near the village of Trent)- I've been using the route that you describe for a few months now. It prevents tons of PA Turnpike/Breezewood headaches. A couple of points worth noting: on one of my recent trips there was a Summit Township police car sitting in the village of Garrett, where the speed limit is 25 mph. I was surprised to learn that a rural township even has a police force of it's own. When I'm that close to my destination there is a strong temptation to drop the hammer for the last few miles, but fortunately I was only doing 25 at the time.

Also, one one my recent return trips I was on Rt 219 South and had just crossed from PA into MD - apparently the speed limit drops from 55 to 40. Thee was a group of 3 MD State Troopers with a speed-trap, and I was snagged doing 52 mph in the 40 zone.
Ullr
July 5, 2005
Member since 11/27/2004 🔗
532 posts
Either of you ever rent your places out? Looking to take the family up for a weekend this year and would rent from a Fourm member first if interested.
tromano
July 5, 2005
Member since 12/19/2002 🔗
998 posts