Whitetail -- not enough rentals?
6 posts
4 users
1k+ views
(Anonymous)
January 20, 2003
My kids and I have never been skiing. We arrived at Whitetail at 9:15 this morning (MLK day), paid for ski rentals and lessons, and stood in the rental line for 45 cold minutes till they told us that there were NO skis or boards left for children under 5 ft tall. It was annoying, to say the least, and I'm not inclined to try that place again. Is this a typical experience? Can anyone recommend a better place to go for total novices?
(Anonymous)
January 20, 2003
Yes that is what normally happens on MLK weekend and presidents day weekend. They are the most crowded most peek. Usually Roundtop has rentals longer on that day. I was at liberty on that Sat and the overflow lot was almost full.

No place can stock enough on those peek demand days. After the end of feb the crowds die down on the weekends. Wed evenings are not that crowded.

But you shouldn't have had to wait that long to find out. When I first started skiing I had to learn all these things the hard way too.
Give it another try.
e

TBONE
January 20, 2003
Member since 01/20/2003 🔗
15 posts
Wow that stinks. But I guess its understandable given the crowds. 1st come 1st served right? Did you get a refund on lift, rental etc... ?
Otto
January 21, 2003
Member since 11/19/1999 🔗
176 posts
It is really unfortunate that you had a bad experience, but if Whitetail was like Liberty this weekend, the place was operating at beyond capacity. There is no good excuse for not letting you know they were out of rentals earlier. That being said, this was an extraordinarily heavy weekend, particularly since it snowed on Fri.. Holiday weekends are tough and even though areas try to plan, they can get caught short. You can't really buy an extra hundred pairs of skis just to have them lie unused 360 days out of they year.
finsoutoc
January 21, 2003
Member since 09/30/2003 🔗
172 posts