WISP?
6 posts
6 users
1k+ views
(Anonymous)
January 17, 2003
Hi. Never been to WISP. I'm an expert, but my wife's a moderate skier and my 9 and 5 year olds are pure beginners. We've gone to Wintergreen a few years, but I'm not crazy bout the culture or the soft snow. Thinking about whether WISP will be right for the family, including ski school and children's programs, rentals, and lodging. Certainly the snow conditions must be better.

Is WISP the right family place for the President's Day weekend? How are the rentals? What about lodging?

Thanks!

JimK - DCSki Columnist
January 17, 2003
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,963 posts
I'm familiar with all the areas mentioned. Under the right circumstances they can all be great. I've written some recent favorable first hand reports on Wisp and Seven Springs. I agree that Seven Springs and Snowshoe have more resort type amenities adjacent to the slopes, in case you'll be devoting energy in that direction. And Wintergreen has more in that department then Wisp. Seven Springs/Snowshoe/Wisp definitely tend to have much better natural snow conditions then Wintergreen. Just a guess, but Wisp might be slightly less crowded then the others on a Holiday weekend. It is also easier to get to from points east between Baltimore and Norfolk (aside from Wintergreen if you live south of DC). There is a Comfort Inn close to the base of Wisp, not sure about other motels. Many visitors stay at rental properties of which there are quite a few owing to nearby Deep Creek Lake, a big summer vacation spot. If you go to resort profiles section of DCSki, you can click on links to check out lodging possibilities at any of the ski areas.
myrto
January 17, 2003
Member since 10/4/2001 🔗
259 posts