Advice on becoming a snowboard instructor
24 posts
10 users
24k+ views
vesty
April 1, 2005
Member since 02/28/2004 🔗
48 posts
I am interested in becoming a snowboard instructor (aasi level 1)and would appreciate any first hand advice from someone who has taken the exam. Thanks.
Roy
April 2, 2005
Member since 01/11/2000 🔗
609 posts
I am not a snowboard instructor but I play one on TV. I am a ski instructor and I can't figure out exactly what you're looking for. If your goal is to become AASI Level 1, and you are a current instructor, I can't help with any advice on the test.

However, if you currently have not been working at a ski area as a snowboard instructor, your first step is to get a job as an instructor. For that, keep an eye on the local resort websites around September (and this forum for that matter) for info on signing up for next year.
canaanman
April 4, 2005
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
358 posts
contact Tucker... he could probably answer all of your questions. You'll find his info if you do a member search.

All I can suggest is that you are fluent in switch.
therusty
April 5, 2005
Member since 01/17/2005 🔗
422 posts
I am a staff trainer at Whitetail and AASI level 2. If you are not yet working as an instructor, your first step is to choose which resort you want to work at and take their ITC (instructor training clinic). After you have had 50 hours of teaching and training experience you are eligible to take the AASI level 1 exam. Here is the link for the study guide. http://www.psia-e.org/AASIStudyGuideI.pdf

You do not need to be certified to teach. Although AASI membership and certification are primarily for helping you to improve your teaching ability, most resorts will give minor improvements in pay and teaching status for certification.