Snowshoe Powder Question- need help
11 posts
8 users
1k+ views
Roger Z
February 9, 2005
Member since 01/16/2004 🔗
2,181 posts
Ok, let's say it's a midweek day. You've just arrived at Snowshoe and eight inches of snow has fallen the night before. Where's the best place to hit the pow that morning- Western Territory, Snowshoe Basin, or Silver Creek? Thought I'd heard on this board that Silver Creek was the place to be, but just want to check. Any opinions on this? Quick responses would be greatly appreciated!
Philip
February 9, 2005
Member since 12/21/2004 🔗
26 posts
Hmmm tough question, kind of like asking which supermodel would you date?

Since Western Territory doesn't open till 10 or so, I'd ski the basin, namely: widowmaker, grabhook, and maybe one or two more runs and then race over the Western Territory. Leave Silver Creek alone. I only go there at night.
kwillg6
February 9, 2005
Member since 01/18/2005 🔗
2,066 posts
When I was an instructor there we woulod head to the creek. Fewer people means more fresh.
kwillg6
February 9, 2005
Member since 01/18/2005 🔗
2,066 posts
Generally any powder on the basin side becomes cut up crud in very short order, especially after ski school's 8:30 line up. And they tend to groom a lot of it out before the paying public gets out.
JR
February 9, 2005
Member since 01/1/2003 🔗
276 posts