Snowboard newbie
13 posts
4 users
5k+ views
vesty
February 3, 2005
Member since 02/28/2004 🔗
48 posts
I have been skiing for a couple of years and recently decided to make the switch to snowboarding. I am a 45 year old mother of 3 sons and am enjoying learning along with them. So far so good.
I am in the process of learning to link turns. Can anyone help me better understand the idea of "twisting the board" to make it turn. One analogy I read said to think of my lead foot in terms of driving a car. Toes down to start a toe edge turn and toes up to start a heel side turn.
Can some on help me understand what is going on with the back foot. Thanks.
therusty
February 9, 2005
Member since 01/17/2005 🔗
422 posts
Hello Vesty,

When you make a turn from heel edge to toe edge, if you move both feet at the same time, the board goes from heels to flat to toes. When you twist the board to initiate turns, there's a delay in the movement between the front foot and the back foot. So if you think about standing on the front foot first, the front of the board goes from heels to flat to toes before the back of the board gets off the heels. Then the back foot follows from heel to toe and the board untwists.

Most of the time, the delay between the feet is very slight and the amount of twist is very small. If you have a flexible board, you can actually twist it hard enough to really be on one edge in front and the opposite edge in the back for a brief moment. On comfortable terrain, you cna actually play with this move by talking to yourself by saying and doing "front foot first" pause "then" pause "the back foot". During the "pause then pause" you are actively resisting the back foot following the front foot in order to create the board twist. This is one of the things I do in lessons to let my students see what board twist looks like. You can do the same in order to get a better feel for what twist is.

The key point is to introduce delay between the feet when changing edges.
vesty