Should I be taking lessons?
9 posts
7 users
2k+ views
Vulcan
February 1, 2005
Member since 01/31/2005 🔗
7 posts
I've been really enjoying skiing alot this year, I never took lessons when I started last year... But this year I have a night club card which includes lessons. So. I should probably be taking advantage of this shouldn't I? Has anyone ever done lessons at liberty before? And is it worth it? I havent looked into it much (and I'm not sure how they divide the levels etc...), but how do I determine what my skill level is for the lesson?
snowcone
February 2, 2005
Member since 09/27/2002 🔗
589 posts
Of course!

My dear friend ... lessons are an absolute necessity to fully enjoying skiing. Even though you may be a totally self taught prodigy, there is no way you can learn the fine points of skiing/boarding without the assistance of an instructor ... and Liberty has some of the best around. I don't know the level at which you are currently skiing but to progress to more difficult terrain you need to learn advanced techniques ... only an advanced level instructor can give you that insider knowledge. Beside you might find that some things you though you were doing right, you are actually doing wrong.

Skiing technically well is cool ... skiing badly is not.

Get with the program .. take lessons!
PhysicsMan
February 2, 2005
Member since 11/20/2001 🔗
218 posts
Quote:

...(a) this year I have a night club card which includes lessons. So. I should probably be taking advantage of this shouldn't I?

(b) Has anyone ever done lessons at liberty before?

(c) And is it worth it?

(d) I havent looked into it much (and I'm not sure how they divide the levels etc...), but how do I determine what my skill level is for the lesson?

Snowcone's answers are spot-on, but let me add my $0.02 from the POV of an instructor that teaches at Whitetail.