Should I take another lesson?
11 posts
6 users
3k+ views
janej
December 19, 2004
Member since 09/20/2004 🔗
42 posts
I learned ski late. Started when I was 26, then took a few years off when the kids were too young. We started again last year when my younger son turned 5. I just looked at "Rate your ability" on the 7 springs web site and decided I am between level 3 and 4 by their standard. I can parallel skiing on green slopes. I really enjoy the greens and have no desire for speed and challenge. It must be my age. Should I still take another lesson this year?
Crush
December 19, 2004
Member since 03/21/2004 🔗
1,271 posts
YES
Roy
December 19, 2004
Member since 01/11/2000 🔗
609 posts
jane you should definitely take a lesson. Everyone should. Ok I'm a little biased because I'm a ski instructor but that's why I offer that advice.

Quote:

I can parallel skiing on green slopes. I really enjoy the greens and have no desire for speed and challenge.

This should not affect your decision to take a lesson. I think that's great that you know your limits. But there are still things you could improve on I'm sure. Next time you ski, ask yourself: "Did I ski as long as I'd like to? Which muscles are sore?" An instructor can help you with these answers.
janej
December 19, 2004
42 posts
Hi Roy,

Thanks a lot for the suggestion. Would you recommend a group or private lesson? For our ski trip, the rates are group lesson $15/1.5 hour, private lesson $45/hour. The reason I am considering group lesson is I'd like to take lesson with my kids. They would refuse to go if I want them to go by themselves.

Thanks,

Jane
LordHedgie
December 19, 2004
Member since 12/1/2004 🔗
49 posts
If you're absolutely going to take a lesson with your five year old, then you'll probably want a private lesson. I doubt you and your kid are close enough in skill to be placed in the same group and both be able to learn anything.