Where to day trip from DC for Mon. 1/17 skiing
15 posts
6 users
2k+ views
BackInDC
January 15, 2022
Member since 03/18/2021 🔗
11 posts

How good are the conditions looking for this Monday? I just got back from Vermont but I didn't get a foot of fresh powder while I was there, are Monday's conditions worth a last second day trip?

How do resorts handle a big snow dump when most of the mountain has been closed? will they open everything? Which resorts are more chill about ducking under ropes?

Massanutten, Wisp, and Blue Knob are all a little less than a 3 hour drive for me. Bryce Mountain is 2 hours 10 min, Liberty is 1.5 hours. What does DCSki think the right call is?

I'm a student as well so any student deals would be a factor in the decision.

wgo
January 15, 2022
Member since 02/10/2004 🔗
1,666 posts

Massanutten will have side stashes for sure and will be close to fully open. Only question is how much freezing rain will mix in.

I am a huge fan of Blue Knob when it is fully open, but currently none of their advanced terrain (and little of their intermediate terrain) is open. Not sure if they will open anything else up after the snow this Sunday. 

Is Monday the only day you can go? Tuesday at Timberline could be epic.

bousquet19 - DCSki Supporter 
January 15, 2022
Member since 02/23/2006 🔗
778 posts

Check online for the student deal on Mondays and Wednesdays at Massanutten.  Deals at The 'Nutt

Woody

marzNC - DCSki Supporter 
January 15, 2022
Member since 12/10/2008 🔗
3,246 posts

Between Bryce and Massanutten, it's worth the extra driving time.  Plus dealing with I-81 and US33 that will be cleared sooner rather than later.  Don't know how the 2-lane road to Bryce will be on Monday morning.

With a dump, usually Mnut doesn't groom out all of DJ and Paradice.  Relatively easy to leave part of Paradice ungroomed.

marzNC - DCSki Supporter 
January 15, 2022
3,246 posts

bousquet19 wrote: