10 posts
5 users
2k+ views
CoolBreeze303
May 23, 2020
Member since 05/23/2020 🔗
6 posts

Hello All,

I'm new to skiing and I was hoping I could bounce a few things off you guys collectively. My only experience has been at Snowshoe and while its a fantastic resort, it's kind of out of the way if I wanted to make it a day trip coming from NoVa. I only recently learned how much closer Whitetail and Liberty are to the DC Metro area.

My question to you all is, From everyone's experience how many trips would i have to make so the Epic Pass pays for itself?

Thank you all.

JimK - DCSki Columnist
May 23, 2020 (edited May 23, 2020)
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,963 posts

CoolBreeze303 wrote:

Hello All,

I'm new to skiing and I was hoping I could bounce a few things off you guys collectively. My only experience has been at Snowshoe and while its a fantastic resort, it's kind of out of the way if I wanted to make it a day trip coming from NoVa. I only recently learned how much closer Whitetail and Liberty are to the DC Metro area.

My question to you all is, From everyone's experience how many trips would i have to make so the Epic Pass pays for itself?

Thank you all.

Not sure, but I think a Whitetail weekend day ticket for an adult is about $80, a night ticket is about $50.  You would need to compare this to your preference for the many passes offered here:  https://www.epicpass.com/pass-results/passes.aspx

If you chose the adult Northeast value epicpass at $599 it would take about 7.5 (x 80) days at Whitetail to break even.  If you are active duty they have a fantastic pass deal at $169.

CoolBreeze303
May 26, 2020
6 posts

I appreciate the feedback Jim, Thank you.

Vermont
May 27, 2020
Member since 12/26/2019 🔗
174 posts

If you are able to go 2 times a week with at least once during midweek it might be worth buying

they can have very short seasons and seeing what Ikon did to snowshoe (crowds) it just may get too crowded 

CoolBreeze303
May 27, 2020
6 posts