This weekend
13 posts
7 users
2k+ views
nooby
March 27, 2018
Member since 03/27/2018 🔗
3 posts

It looks like Liberty is planning on staying open until 5 pm on Saturday - do folks think it really will make it, considering the weather for the next few days (rain/warm temps). I'm a snowboarding noob (just started late this season) but would love to get in one last day this weekend relatively close to DC. I'd be willing to make a trip to Snowshoe if that is really the only option.

rbrtlav
March 27, 2018 (edited March 27, 2018)
Member since 12/2/2008 🔗
578 posts

7 springs will be open and it looks like they have decent snowpack still.

If you doing mainly green trails I would think liberty (depending on conditions) or 7 springs might be better. Snowshoe is my home resort in the area, but the greens there are very narrow and have several large switchbacks. If you are comfortable on blues...Snowshoe might be worth the trip as there are plenty of nice blues in the basin. IMO silver creek has a much better selection of trails for beginners and is way less crowded, (closed for the season) so keep that in mind for next season.

Punk Wonk Mike
March 28, 2018
Member since 12/3/2016 🔗
21 posts

If you're willing to make the drive to 7 Springs or Snowshoe, I'd do it. I was at Liberty this Saturday and the conditions were decent enough (I had a great time) but the bare patches were showing then and have only gotten bigger and temps are going to be reaching 60 with rain at Liberty tomorrow and Friday.

woolly
March 29, 2018
Member since 03/28/2018 🔗
5 posts

what about the poconos? how will they be this weekend? Im considering going some where for a final day this weekend and was thinking about camelback.

mdr227
March 29, 2018
Member since 01/11/2016 🔗
193 posts