Wisp 1/7/18
14 posts
5 users
5k+ views
Blue Don 1982 - DCSki Supporter 
January 8, 2018 (edited January 8, 2018)
Member since 01/13/2008 🔗
1,580 posts

We took to the hills of Wisp on Sunday.  A cold start of "zero" at 9 AM but no wind and the bluebird skies warmed up to the mid - upper teens by the afternoon.  I like Wisp.  It was the first place / time I ever skied when I was a Freshman at WVU.

Conditions were groomed packed powder.  Crowds were light as we mostly skied up to every lift.  I think 32 of 34 trails were open.  Base looked solid and we tried to ski just about every area of the mountain.  

Below are a few misc pics from our day but the real treat is this Kick Butt Video my buddy compiled last night. 

http://go2snowshoe.com/blog-post/wisp-resort-1-7-18/

We're having a lot of fun this year documenting our ski travels with some of his really cool gadgets.

Top of Squirrel Cage

Base looking up

Lift View

Our stats

We covered the mountain

JimK - DCSki Columnist
January 8, 2018
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts

That video is great, really clear.  So your friend has a drone??  Is that how you got those amazing aerial shots in the first minute of the video?

1,580 posts

JimK wrote:

That video is great, really clear.  So your friend has a drone??  Is that how you got those amazing aerial shots in the first minute of the video?

Yes sir.  DJI Phantom 4.  The drone has a 4K camera on it.  The land shots were taken with an older gopro hero 4 attached to a hand held gimbal.  The gimbal removes all the "shakiness" when filming and smooths out the video. 

JimK - DCSki Columnist
January 8, 2018
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts

Cool!  I noticed somebody in your crew (dressed in black?) actually waved at the drone.  It would be really neat to get a big posse together and have that thing follow them around the mtn filming the whole thing.  

January 8, 2018
1,580 posts

JimK wrote: