Masanutten v. Wisp Jan 24-25 weekend?
7 posts
4 users
4k+ views
NonstopSki
January 15, 2015
Member since 12/24/2007 🔗
132 posts

Haven't been to either one of these, but I've only skied Whitetail, Liberty, Timberline, Wintergreen and Snowshoe locally.

I was leaning Masanutten since it's 100% open. But I've heard some good things about Wisp too and my buddy can get us a hotel one night for $30 since he works for a major hotel chain. 

I'd be down for Wisp over Masanutten if Wisp has more open by Jan 25. But I also coudl be happy going there now with about 70% open. Any thoughts? I'm an expert skier and my friend is an intermediate-expert, I guess. So we'd ski primarily blacks and then the Blues when we were bored of those. 

marzNC - DCSki Supporter 
January 15, 2015 (edited January 15, 2015)
Member since 12/10/2008 🔗
3,246 posts

Never been to Wisp.  I see the total vertical is 700'.  You get more vertical off just Lift 6 at Mnut for the two longer black trails, around 850' vertical.  Hopefully there will be bumps on the side of Paradice soon.  You won't wait more than a chair or two on Lift 6 on a non-holiday weekend.  Plus Upper MAKAttack is a challenge in terms of bumps/humps.  Also fun on Showtime in the morning when it's pretty much empty.  Going between Lift 5 and Lift 6 is easy now that Mass Transit and Yee Ha are open.

Here's a DCSki report on Wisp from 2006:

http://www.dcski.com/articles/view_article.php?article_id=893

Compared to Whitetail, I think Mnut is a better choice on a weekend for an advanced skier.  Total vertical is 935', compared to 1100' at Mnut.