The Death of WHFS
43 posts
24 users
20k+ views
skidmo
January 13, 2005
Member since 10/10/2003 🔗
32 posts
With apologies for the off topic post, it is with great sadness that I report the death of WHFS. For any DC natives that are into music, this represents the last chapter of a once truly great radio station. I've been listening to the station since 1976 when it was truly "out there" where no one else would go. The death has been a slow one. Over the past 10 years or so, the staion has slowly changed from a truly modern rock station to a "top 40" radio station. Despite the de-evolution, it was still listenable. On the way into work yesterday morning, all was normal. On the commute home, I clicked on 99.1 only to be blasted with "festive spanish" music. At first, I thought it was a wierd radio thing or a joke. But when I checked the website via Blackberry, WHFS was gone.

Here's to Damien, his father and to the other revolutionaries from the early days that ran into the big corporate wall. I owe part of my youth to you and a big debt of gratitude for keeping me young as I grew older.

RIP
kennedy
January 13, 2005
Member since 12/8/2001 🔗
792 posts
I was shocked that it went. I know DC101 was on the hook to go Spanish and it still might. I like DC101 but their music selection is limited. Since it's own by Clear Channel you never know they might also switch to compete against Infinity (99.1 owners)
KevR
January 13, 2005
Member since 01/27/2004 🔗
786 posts
Dude, dry your tears. WHFS is actually WRNR out of annapolis (103.1). Damien still jocks there. WHFS, the one you refer to is something owned by some big company -- it hasn't been 'HFS for a long time. All they did is converted it to Latino music. I was salsa-ing to it just a few moments ago...
skidmo
January 13, 2005
Member since 10/10/2003 🔗
32 posts
I have issues getting the annapolis station. Also, while I noted that the station was a shell of its former self, it still was a cut above 101.1.