15 posts
11 users
4k+ views
jpetraiuolo
February 14, 2020
Member since 02/11/2020 🔗
54 posts

Hi all! 
My name is Joe and this is my first time posting to DCski, I am very excited to be part of the community! I am relatively new to the DC area and just took skiing back up after a 3 year break. I haven't been to many places within driving distance and was hoping to get some advice from all of you on where to ski.

Alittle background about my ski history: 

I grew up in Cleveland so I am use to traveling to ski. Normally for a day trip I would have driven 3 hours to holiday valley in New York and annually I would spend a few days either in Stowe VT or take a trip out West. Being the youngest of 3 I benefitted from taking numerous lessons as a child so that the rest of my family could go ski the more advanced terrain. I would consider myself a relatively advanced skier who's favorite runs are steep groomers.

I was planning on taking an overnight trip before the season ends and I am very torn. I have spend countless hours reading about the surrounding area ski resorts, reading this website, and looking at trail maps/mountain stats. I understand that for a 5 hour drive Snowshoe seems to be the consensus best resort in the area but it leaves me somewhat skeptical because of its outrageous prices. I think the western territory looks awesome but with everything else having a smaller vertical than whitetail I was considering other options.

For about an extra hour of driving I learned that I could go to Catskill resorts such as Hunter or Windham which both claim a 1600 ft vertical and it appears that more of the mountain actually is that big compared to Snowshoe. Also the prices for stays and lift tickets are much cheaper.