Bus/shuttle
9 posts
8 users
2k+ views
strausdd
November 19, 2015
Member since 11/18/2015 🔗
2 posts

I grew up here, and I just moved back. In high school, we had biweekly busses to area ski resorts. Is there anything like that for adults in the area? Carpool websites?

I don't have a car, and I'm trying to figure out if day trips are an option.

Blue Don 1982 - DCSki Supporter 
November 19, 2015
Member since 01/13/2008 🔗
1,580 posts

I remember seeing this a while back.  I have no experience with it.

http://www.meetup.com/DCMDVASNOWBOARD/

Sschneid
November 19, 2015 (edited November 19, 2015)
Member since 03/22/2015 🔗
50 posts

Where is here?  Are you in the city or one of the suburbs? 

I've looked around and haven't found much. Would like to find a group that is interested in carpools to Snowshoe.  Will be going up most weekends this season. 

strausdd
November 19, 2015
Member since 11/18/2015 🔗
2 posts

I'm in DC near Dupont Circle. 

JimK - DCSki Columnist
November 19, 2015
Member since 01/14/2004 🔗
2,964 posts

No service like that here on DCSki.  There was a local (DC area) attempt about 10 years ago to set up semi-regular bus service to local resorts, but it didn't last.  See article here:  http://www.dcski.com/articles/view_article.php?article_id=851&mode=rss

Interesting link provided by BlueDon, I would guess craiglist might also be a good tool for this.

hoyadrew
November 19, 2015
Member since 12/19/2005 🔗
147 posts

I live between DuPont and Logan and have a Snowshoe season pass.  Crashed my car last week but if I ever get it fixed or replaced you're welcome to ride with to Snowshoe.  I actually have been seriously interested in trying to restart a skibus in DC but haven't got much money, time, or energy to give it a real shot.

RodneyBD - DCSki Supporter 
November 19, 2015
Member since 12/21/2004 🔗
259 posts