Snowshoe backcountry or glades?
14 posts
8 users
4k+ views
ahpski
September 24, 2015
Member since 09/23/2015 🔗
11 posts

Hey everyone, Im new to the DC community.  Im writing to ask if anyone has much experience with backcountry skiing adjacent to or around the Snowshoe area.  I know about Hawthorne, but does anyone know of quality drive-to or hike-to descents within the mountains surrounding the resort?  Also, I am suprised how little activity there is clearing and pruning the woods within the resort itself.  Help me out guys!!!!!!  A larger group of individuals who did a little "trail work" from time to time would do wonders for the place.  T-line, WG, and MPC get all the love for backcountry spots but Snowshoe and the surrounding area has to have plenty of options as well.  Thoughts??

David
September 24, 2015
Member since 06/28/2004 🔗
2,444 posts

This video looks farily interesting. May be about all you can find on the matter. Also, I do remember seeing a video of a guy skiing/snowboarding a right of way off of the top of Snowshoe a few years back. This isn't the video but it may be the same location. 

David
September 24, 2015
Member since 06/28/2004 🔗
2,444 posts

This is a great video too. Lots of poaching going on, which may or may not get you in trouble at the Shoe. Watch with about a minute left and he does do some "backcountry" skiing on unoffical trails. 

ahpski
September 27, 2015
11 posts

Yeah, those are good areas for sure. Still looking for new areas though around the resort or within a short drive.  

The Colonel - DCSki Supporter 
September 27, 2015 (edited September 27, 2015)
Member since 03/5/2004 🔗
3,110 posts

There is an inn near Snowshoe that may still rent Nordic equipment.  Check the website for the Elk River Touring Company

ertc.com

The Colonel

eggraid
September 28, 2015
Member since 02/9/2010 🔗
510 posts