Best/safest route from Snowshoe to DC on Monday?
17 posts
11 users
18k+ views
anialw
January 22, 2011
Member since 01/22/2011 🔗
1 posts
Hi, I am a newbie here and in need of some advice on how best to get home from Snowshoe to DC. We are planning to leave at 2:30pm to still have at least 3 hours of daylight as we made the terrible mistake of driving up in the dark.

We took the I66 to 81 to 55 to 28 and then 66. I was totally clueless how scary it was at night. It is our first time in WV and I had no idea that the road to resort is so steep, windy, and deserted. It was well plowed though and besides not seeing anyone for miles and not having any cell coverage, it was very passable.

So doing some research I was hoping to hit I81 closer in and take advantage of the highway even if it takes me longer to get home. Could you please tell me if it is worth it to take 84 to 220 to 250 and then jump on I81. Or option 2 would be 84 to 220 to 33 to I81. I am just wondering though if these alternates although hitting the Interstate highway sooner, are even more steep and have tons of turns, or possibly not plowed as well as the original route I took here.

Any advice or help would be appreciated.
David
January 22, 2011
Member since 06/28/2004 🔗
2,444 posts
I don't travel from Snowshoe to DC often (actually never), but Lou does almost every weekend. Here's his advice, just go backwards and you're set:

Road directions from Roosevelt Bridge DC to Snowshoe (220 miles, 4 hours, 15 mins):
I-66 to I-81: 76 miles
I-81 to Exit 296: 4 miles to go on Rte 55
Rte 55 to Wardensville WV: 20 miles.
Rte 55 to Moorefield (Corridor H) and left at Rte 28/55: 24 miles
Rte 28 to Greenbank, 2 miles past Greenbank right at Rte 66: 81 miles
(Note: Pass Moorefield [SPEED TRAP], Petersburg [SPEED TRAP] Cabins, Seneca Rocks, Circleville)
Rte 66 to Redgate Road: 11 miles
Redgate Road to the Village: 4 miles

And here's the thread that this came from.
DC to Snowshoe